10 things to keep me mindful (and sane)

 

 

IMG_4048

  Picture From a Photo Run

Is it getting busier or is it just me? Even the things that should be helping people relax and enjoy are becoming busy and stressful. In the last 20 years we have brought in so much technology that it’s overloaded us, with a constant question of what’s next? i Pod, i phone, Tablet, Music Streaming etc. Noise Noise Noise, actually noise and mental noise, I’m going for a run, Hmmm, how can I distract myself, I’ll use my I pod, even better, don’t run outside, we will put a TV on a treadmill for you, distracted enough? Gym’s are amazing, it’s like watching deaf ants scurrying around, with the only language being the occasional nod and smile (if your lucky). Here’s 10 things I doto keep me mindful and active, both physically and mentally.

  1. Surf: Get a board and a wetsuit, it’s free, no we don’t get charged for beach use yet. Sit in the water and just take it all in. If you’ve thought about surfing, give it a go.
  2. Trail Running / Walking: Leave the i pod at home, listen to the birds and the wildlife and be mindful of all the decisions you have to make with your feet.( mountain bikes and kangaroo’s don’t make much noise )
  3. Photo Run / Walk: I know I’m using technology, I love going for a beach run with a camera and stopping to capture awesome moments.
  4. Golf: A little left field, but 3 mates, outdoors, walking and talking. (phones away)
  5. Kayaking: Anytime I’m on or in the water I’m in the moment, the ocean is such a beast it deserves your full attention.
  6. Tennis: Hand Eye co-ordination, it’s hard to be thinking about past and future when your chasing that little furry ball around, tennis or basketball are like moving meditations.
  7. Gardening: I once hated gardening, now I find it soothing. Sun, earth, exercise, yep I’m growing to like you gardening.
  8. Cooking: Personally, right or wrong this is where I use music. Ingredients out, in sense on and away we go, Michael Franti gets a workout.
  9. Sitting: Silence, no agenda, just sitting, appreciating whatever thoughts or noises that come along.
  10. Last but not least BLOGGING: Soothes the soul, thoughts and expressions out into the open, I feel better when I blog.

There you go, what would your top 10 look like?

Enjoy

Leave a comment